For the first time in 10 years, the men’s soccer team made the CCC playoffs this season.

The Lions began their season 0-4-1 in the CCC before tying Endicott Sept. 22 in a double overtime game.

Three of their final four games resulted in wins, which brought the Lions to 3-5-1 in the CCC, which was good enough to earn the 7th seed in the postseason.

The Lions handed the CCC regular season champion Roger Williams Hawks their only loss of the season on Oct. 6.

Their second CCC win came during homecoming against Gordon College.

Sophomore Scott Hansen (Middletown Spring, Vt.) scored two goals, scoring his fourth and fifth goals of the year, in a 2-1 win.

The Lions were able to clinch their playoff spot with a win against the U. of New England on Oct. 23. Both teams entered the game at 2-5-1 on the season, meaning the winning team would head to the playoffs.

Hansen scored the game’s lone goal in the 25th minute, knocking in a ball that was struck from 35 yards out by Edgar Arceo (Minden, Nev.).

The men traveled to #2 Salve Regina on Oct. 27 for the CCC quarterfinals.

A scoreless first half held up in the second half until the Seahawks scored the first goal in the 58th minute. Salve scored two more goals in the second half to earn a 3-0 victory, eventually going on to win the men’s soccer CCC championship.

Hansen explained that a change in the team’s formation was key to their late season success.

“We were playing a 4-4-3, but then coach Ramo changed it up so we had three defenders, five midfielders, and two strikers.”

Players changing positions also put the team in the best position to win.

“Josh Kaplan moved to defense, I moved to forward, Troy [Cohee] moved to defense, Jared Corbin moved to midfield where he helped control the game a lot, and Austin Boucher got back from an injury just before the midway point of the season.”

Hansen added, “Once we made those changes, things just started falling into place; our defense picked up, our offense started working together more, and we just got along better as a team.”

Matt Nieto (Standwood, Wash.), Josh Kaplan (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.), and Seagers Rodrigues (Belgaum, India) are the only graduating seniors.